ETAQ 50TH ANNIVERSARY SPECIAL FEATURE



Friday 18 August 2017 Pre-conference Birthday Celebration

Transcript of President's speech

Welcome to ETAQ's Pre-Conference Birthday Celebration. It is a pleasure to have people from ETAQ's past, present and future sharing with us tonight. It is special because all of you are here. My task here tonight is to recognise excellence in English teaching on the part of the recipients of the Peter Botsman Award winners. We are very fortunate to have 19 of our winners here tonight.

These awards are named after Dr Peter Botsman who was patron of ETAQ from 1981–1987. Those who knew him wax lyrical about him thoughtful, generous and compassionate. His CV also shows the regard in which he was held - primary teacher, headmaster, college and university lecturer before becoming director of the Kelvin Grove College of Advanced Education and expert on education and government policy, here and overseas. When he died at the age of only 64, his contribution continued to be remembered through his life membership and the creation of the Peter Botsman Memorial Awards in 1998. The awards recognise those who contribute to excellence in English teaching either as a classroom practitioner (school category) or for contributions beyond the classroom (beyond-school category). Let us recognise those Botsman Award winners who are here tonight:

John Acutt – whose work as a Head of Department in a range of school has been characterised by strong support of his teachers and building a culture of innovation, as well as presenting numerous highly engaging workshops locally and nationally.

Pam Brennan – inaugural winner in 1998 for an incredible breadth and depth of knowledge of subject English which she spent her career, in and out of schools, sharing with others through conferences, editing *Words'Worth* and acting as secretary for much of the 17 years she worked on the ETAQ executive.

Jennyfer Bullen – her role as HOD English has been characterised by fostering creativity and excellent support of English teachers in her schools. Jennyfer served as both membership secretary and vice-president and actively worked on a range of professional development activities.

Rachael Christopherson – Rachael has been at the vanguard of excellence in English teaching but has committed much of her energy to sharing her skills with others. She chaired ETAQ's PD committee with a wonderful eye for detail and has continued to present workshops which are very highly regarded in the English community.

Annette Curnow – Annette has played the role of an excellent educational leader in her school and in her region, the Darling Downs, for a long period of time, having been inaugural president of the Darling Downs branch of ETAQ. Her wealth of skill around literacy, functional grammar and English has been willingly shared with English teachers.

Kay Elsden –Kay's curriculum leadership, her excellence as a teacher and her commitment to subject English over her entire teaching career has provided outstanding leadership to English teachers both in her school and more broadly through presenting for ETAQ and advising a wide range of bodies on English and English Extension.

Heather Fraser – Heather has had the greatest longevity as president of the North Queensland branch which she assisted in founding in 1981. She took on a variety of roles in the 1980s and has been president from 1988 until now with a brief break in the 90s. Heather has been a vibrant supporter of teachers in her region and strong advocate for English teachers and the need to support our regional cousins who organised the 2009 state conference.

ETAQ 50TH ANNIVERSARY SPECIAL FEATURE

Kathleen Hannant – her work as an educational researcher and leader of teachers in her school and beyond have demonstrated her high level of skill and her commitment to sharing her skills in English, literacy and functional grammar teaching with others. She has been a strong influence in ETAQ's Darling Downs branch.

Anita Jetnikoff – Anita's zest for learning has been evident in her teaching, her presentations at ETAQ events and her energetic promotion of her students and their research. She has worked strongly in English education in north Queensland and then at QUT, as editor of *English in Australia* and, most recently, the role of current ETAQ patron.

Grace Loyden – she has worked assiduously in her remote school to create a strong and effective community of English teachers and has generously shared her skills in her school and beyond. She has also pursued research which she has been diligent in sharing with the teaching community.

Ray McGuire – Ray was also an inaugural recipient of this award for a wide range of service to English teachers. He developed very high quality curriculum materials at his school and in his work on a plethora of representative bodies. His reach has been broad and continues still, in his retirement.

Margaret Miller – she has worked in a wide range of roles, in schools, at the QSA and around the state to share her innovative and informed approach to English curriculum. She has also co-authored a significant English textbook which has been widely used by teachers.

Michelle Ragen – she has served on the management committee for 10 years and has organised a wealth of events including the 2013 national conference as well as managing book sales for years. Her expertise is legendary and her willingness to share with her colleagues and to commit to the good of English teachers is very much appreciated.

Helen Rivers – for her remarkable, tireless and charming role as seller of books. Nothing was ever too much trouble and she was able to talk

about the respective merits of all the books in her sales repertoire. A remarkable achievement and one really appreciated by members.

Esme Robinson – Esme has devoted her working life to the promotion and development of subject English in Queensland and has served in most roles available to English educators. She has worked extensively both inside the classroom and outside the classroom, as teacher, HOD, presenter, program developer, as president of ETAQ for a decade and as consultant on a huge range of projects.

Mary Swayne – Mary has worked in such a wide variety of ways in English teaching, working as teacher, Head of Department, on committees, as lecturer and tutor and as seer for many in the English teaching profession. Her deep knowledge and wide experience, along with her gentle nature, have made her the heart of English.

John Thomas – Perhaps the most significant aspect of John's approach to English teaching has been his capacity to absorb new ideas, come to terms with their complexity, and exploit their worth. He has proven himself always ahead of the curve around critical literacy and other innovative approaches, as well as being a strong advocate for English teachers.

Lindsay Williams – Lindsay has remained the consummate expert for quality English teaching as he has presented innumerable workshops in schools and through ETAQ events over many years. The number of committees on which he has served and research projects he has been a part of are dizzying in their scope and speak of the influence Lindsay continues to have.

I also recognise the Peter Botsman Award winners who cannot be here tonight or are no longer with us: Professor Nola Alloway, Dr Lenore Ferguson, Pam Gilbert, Lea Harrison, Lisa Jeffcoat, Judith Kearney, Ted Kent, Simon Kindt, Katie Lipka, Leone McKeehan, Associate Prof Karen Moni, Ed Morris, Dr Patsy Norton, Sam Power, and Paul Sherman. I ask you to join me in congratulating our Peter Botsman Award winners.